Another Newbie in the Portland, OR Area

6 Replies

Hey guys so my name is Colton Vermillion. I've been a listener of the Bigger Pockets podcast for about 6 months now and have loved all of the information I've learned from it (thanks Josh and Brandon!). I took a while getting onto the forum as I had a lot of big life events crammed together in a short amount of time. I'll try to condense as much as I can. I'm 25 and just recently graduated college and got my BA in Environmental Studies from UCLA, went on an amazing trip to Europe with my girlfriend of two years, and have now just moved to the Portland area (specifically Vancouver, WA but we're hoping to hop over the Columbia once our lease is up) from sunny SoCal. I work as a seasonal ranger with the Forest Service and probably not surprisingly I don't make much money but I'm pretty darn happy. It's really because of my less-than-lucrative job choice that I've turned my eyes towards investing. Although I love my job, I'd love even more not to need one, so my current goal is to buy and hold to the point where I'm financially stable enough to retire early. Very original I know! What drew me to real estate moreso than other investment vehicles is the tangible aspect of it. In addition my parents introduced me to the concept of being landlord early on, as they purchased a townhome outright with equity and have some great cash flow going because of it. Well I'm really excited to finally be on here and I look forward to connecting with all of you! Thanks for reading! Colton

Hey @Colton Vermillion ,