Newbie from Saint Paul, MN

12 Replies

Hello,

I'm Brian, a 25 year old ex hockey goalie and an aspiring Real Estate Investor from a suburb of Saint Paul, MN. I graduated in 2017 with a bachelors in Material Science and Engineering from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities. I work as a Manufacturing Engineer for a medical device company in Minneapolis, MN. I found BP after reading Rich Dad Poor Dad, as I'm sure many others have done, and I have decided real estate would be my way to get out of the rat-race. I have seen many family members struggle to make a living and they constantly worry about whether or not they will have enough in their 401k to live off of when they retire. I'm going to be different, I want to travel and have the time to create many exciting life experiences, and I believe I can achieve this with real estate.

My goal is to buy & hold small multifamily (2-4) properties near Minneapolis and achieve enough cash flow to surpass my current engineering income so I have the option to work part-time or even early retirement. My intention with my first buy & hold deal is to owner occupy (currently living at home with my parents and its time to get out) a 2-4 plex near Minneapolis that needs some work (ideally not a full rehab) and finance it with a 203k FHA loan. I will be managing my first property on my own, but once I have a large enough portfolio I will use property management.

I'm excited to meet the BP community! Feel free to let me know what you think of my strategy.

Hey @Brian Loibl , welcome to BP!

I love the househacking strategy and just sold my first one.  Once I get a few other things in my life straightened out I'll start to look for the next. I plan to keep househacking indefinitely.

It allowed me to buy another rental, live for free and get some cash together to buy two more that I have under contract right now.

Let me know if you ever want to grab coffee and talk!