Skip to content
New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes
Jarid S. Johnson
  • Happy Valley, OR
Votes |
New to Bigger Pockets, new to real estate investing.

Jarid S. Johnson
  • Happy Valley, OR
Posted Jun 3 2018, 17:38

My name is Jarid, I am new to Bigger Pockets, though I have been getting plenty of great information and inspiration from listening to the Bigger Pockets podcasts over the last couple of months. I have also read many of the books recommended by the guests; I am receiving an amazing education fueled by my enthusiasm for taking on a new career path.

Over the last 30 plus years I have been in the media production business: radio, TV, corporate video production and corporate A/V. With my move to Gresham, Oregon to escape the ravages of rampant growth and skyrocketing housing prices in the Bay Area, I have chosen to transfer my production skills into a new adventure in real estate investing.

I plan to learn the ropes by starting with a number of flips then building up to buying income properties. I was happy to know I already had many of the recommended team members in place even before reading the BP blog post "20 Must-Have Team Members for Real Estate Investing Newbies." I continue build a network of friends who currently invest in real estate as a way to discuss ideas and methods as well as learn from their experiences.

As part of the ramp up to my first deal, I have been seriously browsing listings and doing a number of work ups to practice my analysis skills. I purchased a comprehensive spreadsheet package that takes an investor from property analysis through purchase, rehab and sale, to deal reconciliation as a way to analyze the success of the project. The package includes reports for potential investors and a business plan template. I have created, but still need to hone, my business plan.