Investor from Birmingham UK - (also interested in Spain/Portugal)

16 Replies

Hi all 

I'm new to the BP community and love the podcasts and content so far...

I'm currently researching the UK markets as well as Spain and Portugal looking for whichever options make the most sense for rental income. If anyone is in these markets and wants to share ideas or tips then let's connect!

Strategies I want to employ: 

BRRRR

buy and hold

flipping

note investing (maybe at a later stage)

P.s - I have a marketing agency and a long background in sales and marketing so I'm happy to help if anyone has any questions around this topic - feel free to message me.

Deep

Hi,

In Barcelona city is becoming impossible to get that yields. Maybe 4,5% is more accurate. 

In other cities may be possible. I still have my network in Barcelona, but 100% of my operations are in Valencia.

Valencia still cheap and you could get 7-8% without putting to much effort. But you should buy with cash.

Mortgages in spain are low interest, but they give you only 70% LTV.

Yes yields are around the 4.5-5.5% mark in Barcelona, but the capital gains potential is high ... Especially useful if you're looking to buy and hold. If you're looking to flip and are more concerned about net rental yield for better cash-flow, Valencia is a good option.

Hi all. This is my first time posting on a forum, it's so great to see people talking about Spain. We're in Galicia in northern Spain. The highest COC return here is around 4%. are the 7-8% return in Valencia that you refer to on long term rentals or only in tourist areas?

Hi Deep / Adrià,

Thanks for above posts.

I am a newbie just starting out on REI path and glad to find other people interested in Valencia.

I was in Valencia and Alicante cities recently and felt more inclined toward Valencia (bigger city; more diverse opportunities instead of mainly tourism in Alicante's case).