New Member from Delaware

38 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Kristin and I currently work in Wilmington, DE as a project engineer in the construction field. 

Like a lot of you, I read Rich Dad, Poor Dad which really changed my viewpoint on my career. I can admit that I held onto the "poor dad" mentality until after finishing this book.  I am a recent college graduate with a degree in mechanical engineering, largely influenced by the idea that the only way to make a living is to secure a degree and land a job with a good income.  Reading Rich Dad, Poor Dad was so eye-opening, my entire perspective changed. 

Now that I have been working for awhile, I can see the huge benefits of creating wealth and achieving financial independence, rather than always striving for the next raise at my 9-5 job. I was recommended to check out BiggerPockets by my boyfriend who has been a BP fan for some time now. I've been listening to the podcasts and doing research in the background, but figured it was time to jump on the forums and introduce myself to the community. 

I would love to hear from local investors in Delaware on where they've had success investing and any advice you may have. Delaware is great as it is so close to big cities, like Philadelphia, and the beaches, but one of my stumbling blocks is still wondering where a first time investor would be best starting out with rental properties. I also am interested in group homes, as I have two special needs siblings that will eventually need this type of care, and would love to hear from anyone who has any experience in this type of field as well. 

@Kristin Caras I was a CN engineer. It really sucks for the first few years but save up to buy rentals and you cam find a nice office job soon.

Don't fall in 😍 with Kiyosaki. 

He says to buy assets. Or start your own business. 

1. Generally speaking. RE is priced to perfection, right here right now. 

3 years ago  anyone could make loads of 💰 investing.   I did... 😇.