Entering BP - Need Help In Getting Started

8 Replies

Hi All

I am new to BP from Fremont, CA. I am software engineer looking into invest in Single Family Homes with a decent ROI. My primary areas of interest would in the states of Texas, Denver, Raleigh etc and any other valuable properties at other states as well.

Please advice me in getting started and I hope to get great advices from you all.

Thanks

Koushik

Narrowing down to only one or two markets is probably going to be a first step, another will be clearly defining what you mean by a "decent ROI" this will help determine what is realistic and what your expectations should be.

Thanks Aaron. How do you narrow down on a single market ?  I live in CA and apart from CA, I hardly have any info. about real estate in other states.  I would want to start investing low before expanding my investment. 

I am looking to start investing 20k-30k dollars(Rest in loan), and looking for a monthly profits of $500. Not sure if that makes sense.

You would most likely look for a growing market, with low unemployment, in an area that has homes that you like the location and quality of for the price that you want to pay, if a particular market doesn't have these things move on to the next.  After that you can consider ease of access or taxes etc. (things that make your life easier but aren't the most important.

Location is something which will come up with enough research. Some of the things you might want to consider are things are state laws (How much in favor of the owner), taxes and economy of the place. With that said there are a few markets - Austin, Raleigh among other places. I am in a similar boat w r t requirements. hit me up if you wanna chat.