Votes
Matt Johnson
Votes |
Pre-2018 I was homeless, now I'm prepping for 1st home Lincoln NE

Matt Johnson
Posted Dec 26 2018, 15:25

A hearty hello everyone.

My name is Matt, and I'm moving on up.

I've been off and on homeless for the past 2 years. While I was homeless, I made my way to Mexico where life is cheaper and I began self-teaching myself to become a software engineer.

After I felt had strong enough skills and confidence to enter the software industry, I came back to the USA to find my first job. Strategically, I moved into my car and made my way to Denver, CO earlier in 2018 where the weather was bearable to live in my 4-door sedan while I networked and got my first job as a software engineer.

After getting my foot in the door and some experience as a junior software engineer, I began searching for a job in a lower cost of living area than Denver and away from the traffic.

Strategically, I was looking for jobs in midwestern cities with colleges and stable economies because my next goal is to own a home and rent out rooms in the home.

As luck would have it, I'm starting a new position in Lincoln, NE in January 2019 where I lived for 10 years before (I went to college there).

Now I'm seeking advice for my first rental property purchase.

My plan is to purchase a house around $90,000-$120,000 in June/July of 2019. The plan is that I will move into this property and rent out the spare room(s).

I only really care about cash flow of this first property and paying it off fast; then doing it again.

I don't care about how it looks really, it's all about income generation.

My goal is to have 5-10 single family homes in the next 5-7 years with a net cash flow of $3,000-$5,000 per month.

With my new career, high salary, and living in a low cost of living area, I'm preparing for the next phase of my life transition as a real estate investor and improving as a software engineer.