• Honolulu, HI
Votes |
Aloha! Investor in Hawaii looking for Deals on island or mainland

Laren Eustace
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Honolulu, HI
Posted Nov 10 2019, 00:56

Aloha Everyone,

Wow, I am so glad I found this podcast and site! Real estate investing has been something that has been on my heart for a while, and this is just the next step in my commitment to take massive action.

A little background about myself...

I am a recent 2018 college graduate from Indiana University, and I moved out to Hawaii on a whim shortly after graduation last July. I originally started out as a Finance major with the intent of becoming one of those hot shot investment bankers on Wall Street. However, as I progressed through the curriculum in my major classes, it left much to be desired. Although the "Black Scholes model" and "CAPM" sound great in theory, I didn't find much practicality in many of the theories that my professors were teaching to us. I felt like we could do hours of analysis and number crunching for all these stocks, but in the end, nobody really knew how the stocks were actually going to perform! That's why during my senior year of college I decided to pick up a real estate major along with my finance major and WOW, it was so much more engaging and practical than any of what I learned in any of my finance classes. I just love the tangibility of real estate and how you have more control of the variables in the process of acquisition, development, and management. Call me naive, but in my experience so far, real estate people are some of the most creative and solution-oriented people that I have come across, and many of them have been open with me about common pitfalls to avoid and creative strategies to overcome some of the obstacles that new investors face.