Newbie from Fort Myers, Fl

17 Replies

Hello everyone my name is Kiara and I am an absolute newbie at real estate and rental properties. 

To give you a little backround about how I ended up here I can start by saying that,  me and my husband are from NY and decide to move to FL to be closer to family and to run away from the long winters of upstate NY. My husband is an active duty military and for the past year he has been telling me that we should get into real estate, he has a friend that retired early from the military by owning rental properties. In my husband's exact words he said to me "we buy it, we live in it for a few months, we refinance, we rented and then move on to the next one" sounds easy but in my mind there must be more to it so thats how I ended up here. In October we went to see a few houses in Cape Coral, Fort Myers and Lehigh Acres, FL but we did not moved forward with any because we don't know what we are doing when it comes to buying our first rental property and we are afraid to make the wrong decision. So any advice is welcome and we are more than happy to chat with people from this are and people that have experience in doing this. 

Thank You!!! 

@Kiara Lugo

You have found the right website! That is a plan many use but there are a number of additional steps to consider. Who will manage them; need reserves when someone is not paying rent, if you move away, do you have a good manager that can handle all aspects of the homes? What size properties are you focusing on? What are they renting for? What will be your net cashflow after all expenses? You should consider all of these questions when looking at properties.

Let me suggest you continue reading and learning from BP. Also there is a REIA in Ft Myers that you should join. There are a lot of smart people that can help give you good direction in the group.