Getting Started in Binghamton, NY

7 Replies

Hello!

I am a Binghamton University student graduating in May of 2020, who accepted a job to work at Lockheed Martin as an engineer following graduation. I am interested in purchasing buy-and-hold rental properties on the westside (student rentals) as a vehicle for financial freedom down the line.

I am looking to buy my first property sometime during the summer of 2020, and have been (unofficially) preapproved for $165,000 from the bank.

Are there any investors/realtors/property managers in the area that deal with student housing that I can reach out to for a crash course on investing in the area, and the essential basics of buy-and-hold investing for beginners. Willing to meet in person over a cup of coffee or something.

Thank you,

Joe

Hi Joe! Congrats on the job at Lockheed, that’s awesome!

I'm a realtor with Warren Real Estate's Commercial Division, and I specialize in residential investment (see: multi families). Student housing is by far and away the most popular choice for investors in Bing now, but there's A huge gap for young professional housing in the city too. You've got a healthy budget for the area, so you shouldn't have any trouble getting started.

I’ll send you a colleague request. :)

Also, @Christopher Stanis is an amazing resource; he runs the Southern Tier REI, and has experience in a bunch of different types of deals. @Gary Kline is someone worth connecting with as well; @Nichelle Kolokithia is a wholesaler/investor and comes across some great deals. @Paul McCue recently moved away but he’s very knowledgeable about the area; @Daniel Innarella knows everyone and is running some exciting investment groups; @Nick Rutkowski does investing in Cortland and the Ithaca area, and is starting to get in to some small scale development; I know I’m leaving people out but there’s a really healthy group of BP investors in Binghamton!

@Joseph Hurysz

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!