Looking to Invest in Connecticut

17 Replies

Hello everyone, 

I am 23 years old. I graduated as a civil engineer last year, but I am currently in graduate school. I would like to use at least 25K-30K for an investment property. My credit score is 790. 

I see a lot of nice townhomes in CT between $200,000-300,000. Are they a good start for those looking to build a rental portfolio?

Also, what areas of CT would you recommend looking into? I have mainly been looking along the metro north new haven line, but I would love to hear some recommendations. thank you

Are you looking to purchase a Townhouse and live there while renting out some rooms (househacking)? Or will it strictly be for an investment property? CT can be a tough place for condos and townhouses because of the HOA fees typically associated with these properties. Those additional monthly payments kill the cashflow sometimes. There are of course positives to condos/townhouses, like the fact that exterior maintenance is typically covered by the HOA. I'm not saying it wont be possible, but it will be difficult to find something that financially makes sense and still cashflows. It may make more sense to look for a duplex or triplex? New Haven, Waterbury, Hartford and many other cities still have some pretty nice deals right off the MLS if you dont mind owning in those areas. Good luck to you!

Hi @Jamila Thompson