Up Flush Toilet Reviews

9 Replies

Hello I’m new to BP and looking at purchasing a SF rental (Bridgeport, CT) that has an up flush toilet already installed in the basement.  I have zero experience with these and actually didn’t realize they existed until I saw this one.  Does anyone have experience/advice with these, good or bad, they could share?  

I’ve found very few posts on BP other than educate your tenant users on what not to flush.  I’m planning on adding a bedroom next to this bathroom and my concerns are obvious ... smell, overflow issues, reliability and anything else i’m Not aware of.  Any comments are much appreciated.

Regards

Dave

We have used them a lot. Never a problem with smell etc if installed correctly as venting is intrinsic in the layout. Saniflo is the one I've used but I'm not pleased with the longevity of the float mechanism if it sits unused too long, or the macerating jam sensitivity to any small items, grease, hair gel etc flushed. Pulling it apart after a jam is NOT a fun experience. We are planning on one now for a new basement install but it will be a more robust commercial unit. However, just like the proverbial town installed grinder pumps we live with around here, you're severely restricted to what can be flushed & tenants simply do not listen. Also remember NO POWER-NO FLUSHY.

Good luck

Updated 4 months ago

In the event you need to replace the existing unit go with a pump that has a Vortex Impeller. This may help with any potential clogs that may get flushed.

Never heard of these... Does it handle residents throwing grease or baby wipes in the toilet?

Originally posted by @Craig Bellot :

Never heard of these... Does it handle residents throwing grease or baby wipes in the toilet?

absolutely NOT.