Rural North Georgia Investments

10 Replies

Hey guys, I'm a real estate closing attorney in Atlanta, but I grew up in rural North Georgia. I'm looking to buy my first investment property in the next six months, and I'm considering focusing on more rural markets. Anybody have any experience investing in the more rural counties of Georgia (particularly North Georgia), and willing to share their (good and/or bad) experiences? Thanks!

I look around north Metro Atl area, not rural but any time I expand out I find it very difficult to understand property values. If you're looking to flip/BRRRR I would probably link up with some good rural agents that can run CMAs for ya.

I know you can do some cool things like leasing a part of your land for horse housing (probably better term for this) but people pay a LOT to keep their horses somewhere

Hey Brady, I have been in property management for some time and as well have lived in and around Atlanta my whole life. Can you guess where I took this picture? I am not sure how rural you are interested in looking. As far as buy and hold, or BRRRR, Buford and Gainesville can be some great areas to look. Buford city has one of the best school districts in GA. When you look further out of the city it seems you have less competition at foreclosure auction as well. Even less with the Attorney auctions. I was looking at an investment property in Gainesville yesterday. Contained several rental homes as well as two unused chicken barns. If you wanted to get creative you could contract with one of the major chicken processors in Gainesville and find a tenant who can manage the operation. You do not need to be in Atlanta to find a good rental. Main factors I would look at would be your COC return, potential for added value on the property, quality of employers in the area, future plans for development, school districts, etc.. Feel free to DM me, would enjoy reviewing anything that you find interesting