Looking for a realtor on Maui

8 Replies

After a lot of reading and two failed offers I am starting over. I had previously only been looking at the big island and casually looking on Oahu, where I live. Since I am going back to step one I've decided to look at the other islands again. Maui and the big island are the two that I am interested in from the price stand point. That being said I've already been working with a realtor on big island so I am in need of a realtor on Maui. Since I have no contacts on Maui i am asking around here.

Currently looking for a single family home or condo ideally for long term rental. Budget is 300k or less, ideally less than 150k (condo). Because I live on Oahu and have a full time job, I will be using a property manager. Being a newbie I am open to other options, but I won't be house hacking. Brrrr sounds nice and great, but i don't think I have enough cash saved to do an actual remodel.

Maholo for any help!

This post has been removed.

Aloha @Phillip Williams ,  

For BRRRR, if you use a private money lender, remodeling costs are included as part of the loan. It's a lot simpler than most people think plus qualifying is actually based on the deal more than your personal finances. The process is a lot easier than qualifying for a conventional loan from a bank. DM me if you want more info or would like to talk.

FYI I've worked with @Mark Waite before. He's a great agent and can give you some valuable insight into the market here on Maui.

@Vani Narasimha You canʻt buy a SFH that is vacation rentable in Maui, at least not right away. In September a law went into effect saying that before you can apply for a STR application on a single family residence you must own the property for 5 years.

Buying a STR condo is possible, of course, but in order for it to make sense for an out of state investor you would need to put down at least 50% in order for the numbers to work in your favor.