Foundation Cracks in Potential Live in Flip

8 Replies

BP,

I'd love some feedback on how to best proceed with a potential live in flip that I'm considering.  I walked the house yesterday with my realtor and a GC who gave us a quote. There were three different horizontal cracks in the foundation, all on different walls. 

...worth proceeding? 

The cracks didn't seem very big, but if they're fixed correctly, will that be sufficient for the next buyer in 2-3 years? The current owner also gave us the receipt from fixing the 4th wall, which we think had the same issue, but not certain. It was around 12k to fix that wall.

Thanks,

Pat

@Pat Dansdill were you and your GC able to get into the property? I am an agent and investor, my office is in Wheaton, and I am NOT a home inspector, but have heard the inspectors my clients use say vertical cracks are the settling cracks. I am sure you agent/CG has a "guy". I have a great concrete guy, who we consult with for cracks and water issues,  if you need a second opinion. 

Hi Pat, I am a builder / flipper / investor and have done more than 20 properties in Wheaton & Glen Ellyn. Whatever you do, DO NOT hire PERMASEAL OR US WATERPROOFING! They are really expensive, will oversell you and erode house profits. I typically go in and take out walls, open up floor plan and put products in that look really high end but without the cost! If looking for 2nd opinion or 2nd quote (always smart) give me a call. Can show you actual flips, best use and profit scenario. By the way, in this market I love the live and flip. It is not easy to make large profits in this current environment so analysis is crucial. 

Good luck,

Dirk 

Hey Pat,

I sort of buried the lead. Most houses I buy have some sort of foundation issues and normally we can fix easily and inexpensively by injecting epoxy in the cracks and plugging!

This post has been removed.