Newbie Looking to invest in Chicago

8 Replies

Hi,

I'm a newbie investor that's been presented some potential opportunities in Cook County, Washington Heights, Fernwood, Englewood area for rental.  Can anyone help me understand these areas?  

I've also heard that property taxes has been on the rise in exponential percentages, is that true?

@Kitty Louie Where are you located? The areas you mentioned all have great potential but also contain areas of overwhelming risk. You need to assemble a team to give you the information you need to make informed decisions. One block can have great potential and the next block could be a disaster. 

Originally posted by @Kitty Louie:

Hi,

I'm a newbie investor that's been presented some potential opportunities in Cook County, Washington Heights, Fernwood, Englewood area for rental.  Can anyone help me understand these areas?  

I've also heard that property taxes has been on the rise in exponential percentages, is that true?

I suggest researching crime statistics for those areas.  El Salvador leads the world in murders at 83 per 100k people and Englewood has 95 per 100k people

Originally posted by @Kitty Louie:

Hi,

Newbie investor + out of state + hasn't been to south side chicago = money in flames.

There is no substitute for a visit in person to the neighborhood. It is imperative before investing. Saying "area" is your first issue. Acceptable vs unacceptable area to invest in is a block by block proposition in these areas. You cannot make a decision based on Washington Heights, let alone the area of Washington Heights. Its a block by block decision partly depending on which gang controls the block.

Property taxes will only go up, the increases are not exponential. 

Originally posted by @Kitty Lee :

Hi,