• Investor
  • Kirkland, WA
Votes |
Thanksgiving planning is a lot like real estate investing

Account Closed
  • Investor
  • Kirkland, WA
Posted Nov 25 2015, 10:29

While preparing to orchestrate our Thanksgiving feast tomorrow, it occurred to me that in many ways (while the analogy is not perfect) this week has been much like my last year (on a much smaller scale).  As per my recent post, my husband and I purchased, rehabbed, rented, and refinanced a 4-plex this past year.  I've had several e-mails asking me for advice (weird!  I'm still new at this!) and I think the cooking analogy is a great way to express that.  

My mother-in-law (who has admitted herself that she is not a great cook) once looked at me in bewilderment and asked how I made all of the dishes in a meal come out at the same time.  I kind of laughed and told her "It's not magic, it's just preparation."  And in this respect, real estate investing and meal preparation are similar - to someone who doesn't know how to do it, it looks daunting, bewildering, and magical.

I'm a lists kind of person.  I have lists for everything (even for my lists!).  And as I made my Thanksgiving meal list the process felt very familiar to all the planning over the last year to make our first deal come together, keep the rehab going, and get in and manage tenants. 

Phase one: research.  What kind of dishes will you serve?  What are the dietary needs of your guests?  What is your budget?  Boy are these all directly relatable!  What kind of properties are you looking for?  What are your goals?  What is your budget (hey didn't even have to change this one!)?  Identify what you know, what you need to know, and what you may never know (and who to hire that knows it!).