Looking to acquire an abandoned house owned by a holding company

11 Replies

Good afternoon everyone, 

I am new to the real estate game. I am so happy that I discovered the bigger pockets community. I have found a lot of useful information that has helped me to better understand the real estate industry. I still have a lot to learn, but I am excited. I am looking to acquire an abandoned property as my first investment. The previous owner had no mortgage and passed away over 3 years ago. He was my grandfathers neighbor for many years. He had no immediate family, and no will. I've looked on the local tax assessors website, and from what I can tell the property is owned by a holding company in Nebraska. I was wondering if anyone had any previous experience with this? I am assuming the holding company just purchased the tax lien. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Also, I am located in Lafayette, LA.

Josh,

I appreciate your hustle.  But I agree with Judy.  Google the holding company and get their contact information.  Give them a call/e-mail/letter.  Also call the local county office to see if they can help.  If it is a small town and they see that you are just starting out and a good guy, they should be happy to help you.  

To answer your question, based on what you said the Holding Company AND the estate of the dead guy owns the property.  So just ask these good questions to the right people.

good luck