PNC Insurance Needs: How Much Is Enough?

5 Replies

Hey everybody, We are rehabbing our first single family buy and hold investment in Baton Rouge with the BRRR strategy in mind. Here is our first quote on adequate insurance for the property. Does this sound right? Seems high for just a simple PNC quote. I deal with more protection for my business since I'm a contractor but this seems a bit overkill. Carrier: Scottsdale Six-Month Premium: $1179.56 25% minimum earned premium Coverages & Limits: Commercial Property: $125,000 Building Limit – Special Form excluding theft; $2,500 deductible; Replacement Cost Coverage; 80% Coinsurance Commercial General Liability: $1,000,000 each occurrence; $2,000,000 aggregate limit Products-Completed Operations Excluded; Designated Premises/Project Limitation included. Conditions: All subs must carry equal or greater limits of liability naming insured as Additional Insured, hold harmless contract in favor of insured, with Certificates of Insurance. Thank you in advance for your consideration.

Try NREIG, they often give us the best rates.

National Real Estate Insurance Group

Affinity Group Management

7509 NW Tiffany Springs Pkwy #200

Kansas City, MO 64153

@Joseph Ortiz I have used them for multitudes of clients on our hard money deals and they are awesome. I was so tired of beating my head against a wall trying to find someone that would insure properties in need of major rehab and finding them was like a miracle from heaven. Good rates, great service, fast dec pages, and never a whimper about the condition of the properties. 

Kim
Do all of your previous clients get their own liability policies on their properties?
Looks as though my quote from NREIG quote came back for Building coverage only at $121 per month. This includes named storms which is very possible here in Baton Rouge.

Trying to only purchase what’s necessary

Thanks in advance