Massachusetts Real Estate Q&A Discussion Forum

User Stats

Votes
Clinton Grady
Votes |
Moving to Massachusetts, seeking advice and to build network

Clinton Grady
Posted Mar 25 2019, 19:14
In short, I'm currently living in a 2 family but am moving to Massachusetts.  I am seeking the expert advice, insights and recommendations of BP as I move to the next step of building my real estate portfolio in Massachusetts.

My background: I'm an owner occupier of a duplex which underwent moderate rehabbing of both units after we purchased it. I work in finance and live with my wife and pre-k children.

What's Happening: After living away from Massachusetts for about 20 years, I am moving back.

Goals:

• Accumulate more real estate which I can rent out, ideally closer to cash flowing is better (I realize this will be difficult in Massachusetts, especially some areas)
  • Utilize the benefits being an owner occupier - low down payment and low rates
  • Although I'll move to Mass. in a few months, in about 18 months, I'd like to land in a town with excellent schools and in a property that we will live in for the next 20 years; ie, not constantly move my family

Approaches:

• Approach 1: Purchase two properties in the next year