condo rental investment in Columbus, OH vs Cleveland, OH?

11 Replies

Originally posted by @Cecilia Rus :

Looking at Ohio as my next area to invest in rental condos, any suggestions?

Welcome to the site Cecilia. The 1st place I recommend looking is The Ultimate Guide to Grading Cleveland Neighborhoods. From there you can narrow down the type of neighborhoods you are interested based on price & risk level.

Hi Cecilia,

I am a real estate agent here in Columbus. I own 10 rentals myself and 3 of them are condos. Columbus is a great market for you to see a high return on cash flow in rental property! 

Please let me know if I can help in anyway!

Thanks 

@Cecilia Rus Ohio is the 7th largest state in the US...you'll need to be a bit more specific...Columbus and Cleveland have large MSA's...Columbus region is 11 counties with a projected population of 3 million... Have you done any research on specific locations or neighborhoods? Condos are a niche market...why are you going after condos? 

Originally posted by @Brandon Sturgill :

@Cecilia Rus Ohio is the 7th largest state in the US...you'll need to be a bit more specific...Columbus and Cleveland have large MSA's...Columbus region is 11 counties with a projected population of 3 million... Have you done any research on specific locations or neighborhoods? Condos are a niche market...why are you going after condos? 

Thanks Brandon, I have been doing condos for many years now.  I have 10 and they are paid off. I know is different of what other people do here but I get a solid 9 to 11% return, I do my own management.  Open to investigate different options. Not familiar with the term MSA yet. I was looking at Ohio but the taxes seem pretty high. I try B areas.

@Cecilia Rus

Hi Cecilia, I'm certainly no expert on condo investing, but perhaps others can chine in on the benefits of condo's vs. SFR's Multi's.