Question on commission splitting with attorneys in PA

6 Replies

Hello, 

I am a licensed PA attorney, and I am also getting my real estate salesperson license shortly. Attorneys often require agents to sell property for clients, especially in estate and bankruptcy law. So my question is:

As an attorney and real estate agent, could I offer attorneys a split of commission  in return for them referring me listings/clients?

I should get to the bottom of this on my own, but I do not currently have access to any quality legal databases.

Thanks,

Joe

@Joe Chirdon I don't know your state's laws, but most states say commissions can only be paid to people/entities holding a real estate license.

Call your state's real estate licensing department or just go online and read their rules. You should be able to find a definitive answer.

@Joe Chirdon

Are you a PBA member? If so, you may want to try to the ethics hotline to see what they have to say.

Not an expert on this topic but here are some reading materials:

• Here's a link to a somewhat relevant opinion from the Pennsylvania Bar Association and the Philadelphia Bar Association. The question was whether attorneys can receive referral fees for non-legal-service providers. Basic answer was "you probably shouldn't but it might be okay." 
  • Here's a link to an opinion from the NY Bar Association that is directly on point. They would say "absolutely not" if the lawyer gets to keep the commission.  
  • Link to an Philadelphia Bar Association opinion on whether a physician/attorney can receive referral fees for referring a patient to a personal injury firm. A bit convoluted but the answer appears to be "no". 

Personally, I would agree wtih the NY Bar Association opinion. I just see too much of a conflict of interest. 

Aside from the above, take a look at whether there would be RESPA issues and issues with your brokerage. If I was a broker, I wouldn't allow it.