Pro Member
  • North Myrtle Beach, SC
Votes |
Myrtle Beach Real Estate Investing

Jonathan Edmund
Pro Member
  • North Myrtle Beach, SC
Posted Dec 11 2017, 16:30

I'm a local Realtor in Myrtle Beach but want to start taking my money and buying up rental properties. I'm just looking for tips from local investors as to how they are finding good deals. I comb the MLS daily and when I run the numbers on most properties, even assuming I get them at a discount, a lot of them just don't make sense. I know the rental market is fairly solid here I see it every day. Just looking for some general advice, guidance and tips on how to really get started.

I understand the buying/selling aspect obviously and the analysis part of it, just looking for the secret to finding the deals or spotting them more easily. Any local investors find that going to the Horry County foreclosure auction is worth it? From my experience up there, there is just a handful of heavy hitters snagging up most of the properties and I've ran the numbers on a lot of them and don't see how they are making any money. I'm missing something somewhere.

I'm only interested in long term rentals as I'm not a fan of short term rentals here. From my experience, after the HOA fees, taxes and onsite management splits, there is very little profit left on short term rentals unless you get a very good deal on one which puts me right back at square one.