New Investor in Upstate South Carolina

6 Replies

Hello Everyone, I'm Carlos and after actively lurking on this website for the past year and a half combing through forums and discussions that piqued my interest, I feel I've attained considerable knowledge to take my first leap into real estate investing. Not only have I been an active reader on BP, I've also been an avid listener of the BP Podcast. To tell you a little bit about my situation, I'll be graduating in December from Clemson University with a BS in Management and I'll be going off to training for 6 months with the U.S. Army National Guard. I would like to buy my first investment property if possible before I leave for training at the end of January. I've got a 650+ credit score and I would have a couple of grand for a down payment. Other things to add just for credibilty would be that I'll have a good chunk of money coming back from training in July of 2020 and I've got a real estate license where I currently work as an agent under KW. I'm also currently in the process of becoming a member of Upstate CREIA and have been writing up a business plan for what I'm trying to accomplish. My one thing holding me back is the fact that I don't have 2 years of work history with W-2's that lenders look for when looking to preapprove a prospect. I've turned to looking for portfolio lending due to my situation. Or know of any unconvetional ways to obtain financing?

PML or private money lenders are going to be at the top of the list. They can range from family and friends to other investors as well as actual lending companies that due asset based lending. 

Also talk with an experienced VA Lender who can give you tips about the VA loan and criteria that you may be able to use in obtaining a property. Check out the VA loan product that has a rehab side to it.

then there is always creative financing with sellers. Set good terms and conditions and that could work out for you as well.