HML Search: Beginner BRRRR/Flip Investor in DFW Dallas Fort Worth

6 Replies

Good Evening BP, 

I'm breaking into the BRRRR/Flip game. I've done lots of buy and hold (basically turnkey) investing in the past, but this will be my first rehab project. I'm in search of TEXAS BASED, preferably DFW BASED Hard money lenders to work with. I know there are a ton to choose from, I'm just trying to figure out who is willing to offer me the best terms. I have 6 years of REI experience acquiring and owning rentals, but again no rehab experience. I have great credit (780ish) and a healthy DTI with enough capital for down-payments/points/closing costs in the bank.

So far, the terms I've been presented have been:  

13-14% interest, 2-3 points, $250-$500 in other fees, 70% LTV of ARV, no wrapping in of points/fees. Like most others in this business, I'm trying to keep as much cash in my pocket during the deal as possible to improve my COCR.

Is this as good as it gets for an experienced investor new to rehabbing?  Are there any DFW based Hard Money Lenders who can beat these terms for me?  

Thank you for your time.  

Dave Schulwitz

Some HML might consider your rental experience, but most won't. They want you to have experience specifically in rehabs completed and sold. From the perspective of being considered a first time flipper, those rates/terms seem in line with most HML.

Any particular reason why you want a lender based in TX or DFW?  There are plenty of rehab lenders who lend in TX but not based there.  As long as they can accurately assess the deal, there's no reason to not consider them.  

If you want to PM me I could get you more info.

@David Schulwitz - check out Investmark Mortgage, based out of Addison.  Secured Freedom Lending is also a good one that we have used.  When discussing fees, note that some HMLs charge interest on the repair funds that they are holding in escrow, which represents an additional cost to you.