Anchorage Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Steven Bassler
Votes |
4-plexes in mountain view.

Steven Bassler
Posted Jan 17 2020, 16:25

I am just beginning my journey in real estate and am looking to buy a fourplex and live in one unit. I see in Mountain View there are many 4-plexes for sale in the $350k range. Plenty of them look updated with new cabinets, carpet ect. I know that this area is notorious for being a "bad area of town" but at the prices people are asking makes it look like not such a terrible deal. Does anyone have experience with 4-plexes in this area? Are you experiencing bad tenants, crime, non-payment, sub par construction, bad neighbors, low cash flow? Has anyone had good experiences in this area with 4-plexes? Any information is appreciated. 

User Stats

Votes
Darryl Putnam
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Mountain View, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Mountain View, CA
Replied Jan 18 2020, 07:39

@Steven Bassler welcome to BP. Starting with a four plex and living in one unit is an excellent way to begin your real estate investing career. 
You are wise to research the area for safety. It will determine the quality of the tenants you will attract. Better quality tenants can means less headaches for you the owner. But many investors have made a viable businesses serving lower income tenants.  You would want to do this by choice not by surprise. I suggest spending time in area. Use programs like Rentometer to check and compare the rents to other parts of town. There are several programs you can use to check for police reports. I use crimereports.com. Then compare that to other parts of town. Also check out areavibes.com they usually have good descriptions of each area of town.  
See if you can find an investor meet up in your area and talk to local investors about their experience in that part of town.