• Developer
  • Tucson, AZ
Votes |
The Importance of having Agent to Accomplish your Investment Goal

Benjamin Riehle
  • Developer
  • Tucson, AZ
Posted Oct 17 2016, 09:30

For purposes of transparency I want to disclose I am a licensed real estate agent.

When I was in my infancy of real estate investing and before I was a licensed real estate agent I had a deal fall apart that would have netted over $100,000 in a 4 month period. How do I know this? Because I watched someone else close on the property and sell it 4-months later. I was 21 years old. Let that sink in for a second... 21 years old, new to real estate investing (this would have been my third deal), had the property under contract and then boom! The deal unraveled and someone else purchased it...

I am the last person to pass the blame for lost opportunity, without question my lack of experience resulted in this outcome. However, Looking back with 6 years of experience, it is clear, the real estate agent who was representing me had no business on the deal. I am confident the outcome would have been different if the agent had the experience with investment projects and creativity necessary to get the transaction closed,

Not all real estate agents are created equal. Having the right agent working for you, can be the difference between making $100,000 or watching someone else acquire what you lost. Most real estate agents are likable and generally understand the market. However, only a small number can actually go to bat for you and ensure you come out ahead.