• Tempe, AZ
Votes |
Newbie in ASU area Tempe, Arizona

Rocio T.
  • Tempe, AZ
Posted Feb 7 2018, 03:12

Hola! 

My name is pronounced Row-See-Oh  (: 

Don't be fooled by my long intro, I am new to REI but I've been on BP for so long now ... finally decided it's time to interact!

Current situation..... I work in the mortgage servicing dept. for a large bank where I have met a couple of influential people that introduced me to the world of REI. I joined BP in 2015, and I purchased my first home* in July 2016 in the heart of college town (and my home town) - Tempe, AZ. *(sale price 248k, 30yr conventional loan 235k, paying roughly $1,500 PITI). I started my search with multi family units as a way into house hacking, but I ended up purchasing this single family home with 4 bedrooms, 2 baths, carport, and a large back yard with a gazebo and a workshop/shed structure. The move to Tempe was strategic because I knew that I could easily rent to a family or to ASU students when time came - this neighborhood is welcoming to both.

I have already spent some money on improvements. When I first moved into this house I was alone for a few months so I invested in putting up a brick wall for security (the backyard has an alley and a community park behind it). I also spent a shiny penny repairing a broken sewer pipe, and removing a very large palm tree in the front yard (to eliminate maintenance costs, seedlings & scorpions, eww to all). My plan to rent the home out and continue loafing off my parents did not pan out. My parents sold their house when I moved out and they now live with me...empty nest did not last long lol... As I am enjoying the company and cooking of my roommates, I am working full time, SAVING, and dabbling in BP to continue expanding my knowledge.