• Real Estate Agent
  • Cincinnati, OH
Votes |
Creative financing strategies for buyers and sellers to agree on

Sam McCormack
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cincinnati, OH
Posted Nov 15 2022, 07:01

As some of you mat know, I am an agent in Cincinnati, and as others may be finding, deals are hard to come by at the moment. I want to post this to ask about strategies I can start introducing to buyers to use. I see that many sellers think it is 2021 still and are still asking outrageous numbers and just analyzing like we would in 2021, isn't working. Maybe buyers and sellers can meet at a middle ground between sellers getting their price, and buyers getting their terms. So I am basically I am asking, what are some strategies I can start to use and show buyers that may get us closer to landing a deal? (besides higher down payments/buying cash)

User Stats

Votes
Brian Bohrer
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Colorado Springs, CO
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Colorado Springs, CO
Replied Nov 15 2022, 07:21

Hello Sam,

I have seen many agents in my area convince their sellers to offer concessions in order to attract more buyers.  As for the buy side, I am not sure there is much you can do to make your offer more attractive besides what you have already mentioned.  I suppose you could waive contingencies, but that seems a little excessive when the buyer has the advantage now.  

Ultimately the sellers are going to find that with time on the market their home becomes less appealing and by starting out at an inflated cost they will be hurting their chances to be sold at a fair price in the end.  The market has tipped in the buyer's favor in most areas, but with rising interest rates these buyers are shy to pull the trigger.  I think everyone is just going to have to lower their expectations and compromise a bit to keep the market moving.

Hope this helps! Take Care,

User Stats

Votes
Sam McCormack
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cincinnati, OH
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent