Convert to mother in law, or buy duplex?

3 Replies

Hello all, I recently posted a similar forum but I need a little more advice. I found a property that has enough square footage in a nice neighborhood that I can convert the downstairs into a “mother in law” unit which will allow the upstairs to be rented for a good portion of the mortgage. This will take time and money as the place is a little beat up. I am a HVAC contractor by trade so I can handle a lot of the work on my own. However, I am wondering if this is a good strategy for my first property? Or would it just be better to buy a more expensive duplex that is move in ready (or needs very minor repairs). I am currently on the 2-4 year plan where I live so I would want to sell the mother in law place when leaving. The duplex I could maybe keep renting? Could owning a mother in law hinder my ability to buy a second live in property? I am a little nervous as I don’t see a lot of talk about mother in laws being considered a rental property strategy. Thanks All!
Originally posted by @Eric Kissinger :
Hello all,