Airbnb - my favorite real estate investing- Observation #1

26 Replies

Airbnb or STR (short term rentals). The concept is furnished rentals that are rented for short terms as short as 1 day to 30days or longer if you desire.

I'm a newbie.  I only started in 12/2017 with my first airbnb.   So far I'm loving it.   it's a lot of work and I'm glad not everyone is doing it because it's hard or scary or too much work.

I want to share "observations" and reasons why I like Airbnb so much.   I've been doing traditional buy/hold traditional investor for several years and I have little desire to continue finding  another12 month or "long term tenants".

Observation #1:  Niche marketing.

I've been want to to market to a specific clientele or target tenant (without violating discrimination laws).   I'm not talking about race/ethnicity/social class.     My question is this:   Why market to the everyone?    Instead can I market ONLY to a specific type of tenant.  Specifically, can I attract a certain type of tenant - long term, stable, good income, low wear and tear, etc.  

Every buy/hold investors dream, right?   So I thought how about the education market - universities - not college students but rather graduate and professional students (e.g. medical students who spend 4 years in one place).

Targeted tenants.   I know we have all heard on BP podcasts and other interviews where successful investors have done this.

For example, one BP podcast (anyone remember?), an investor had a constant/nonstop tenant base from a sorority.   He did not have to do any mass marketing on Zillow, craigslist, or any other listing.   He had a captive audience that kept sending him tenants - College women from one sorority.   This gave him consistency, ZERO vacancy, and some leverage over his tenants in some ways.

I wanted to replicate that model.   However, i did not find this to be easy......until I found Airbnb.