Fayetteville Locations - Which Areas To Stay Away From?

8 Replies

Hi BPers.

I'm considering purchasing Multi families in Fayetteville AR. I'm new to this location and would appreciate some feedback from local investors. 

Which areas are better then others, which ones to stay away from. 

Are their pockets to watch out from?

Any areas are on the path of progress more then others? 

Wore zones? 

Thanks in Advance !

H

@Hadar Orkibi Hi Hadar, I attended University in Fayetteville (Go Hogs!) and lived there for 5+ years; Fayetteville is a great city. The most coveted locations are Garland Ave, College Ave, Leverett Ave, Dickson st, School St., and MLK because those were the nearest residential areas to the University and campus was easily accessible by bus or by foot. I've heard of individuals purchasing single family properties off W. Wedington and renting them out to college kids however I personally didn't want to live that far from campus.  I've known friends who'd buy rental property out in Farmington but I also think that's also too far away from campus.  There are small pockets of areas to avoid (there were two streets by Wedington that were considered 'hood' when I was there) but they're nothing to worry about. I can't specifically recall any particular "bad" area but if you're looking to purchase student housing, dont stray too far from the streets mentioned above. Let me know if you have any additional questions. 

Thanks @KJ L. , The Prime campus area is not necessary my target area. 

This pocket will probably be tightly haled and will trade at very low cap rates. 

Although i wouldn't mined buying there, im open to buy in and around the city of Fayetteville. 

With the growth that Fayetteville is experiencing I tend to believe that student housing is not the only worthwhile investment. ....

Any comments about the area West of the I 49 would be much appreciated?

Particularly around& between N Shiloh Dr and N Ruppl, Betty Jo Drive?