LA peeps - how are you finding qualified tenants?

5 Replies

Hello all, I am a newbie who has been lurking and reading these posts for awhile. First of all thank you for all the knowledge that has been shared!

Having watched the CRAZY LA market for few years now. I am wondering how do you find qualified tenants with the current prices. Median rent in LA is $2,442 and median household (one or more people contributing) income is 61k. So if the guideline is 3x rent to get approved, you would need a 88k salary to support it. And GREAT if you do, but just curious to see how hard it is to find tenants. Or is it with the housing crisis at the moment people are resorting to all kinds of creative ways to live > Rent out the hammock in my shed.

Data sources: https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/losangelescounty...

https://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-rent-slowdown-20180921-story.html

@EC Eriksson

With over 10 million people in Los Angeles County its not hard to find qualified renters. The hard part is finding a property that will cash flow because the house prices or so high.

There just isn't enough housing in Los Angeles County.  This helps in finding renters.

Not hard to find good tenants, even, I would say, in C areas. We've got quite a housing crisis here, and people find ways to make it work. I am aware of single family rentals in places like south LA, Compton, Watts etc where 7 and 8 family members (maybe more, who knows) are living in 3 bedroom houses. I suspect this happens in areas that are a little better also.

Advertise on Zillow, Trulia, and possibly Apartments.com. I'd avoid Craigslist because I think you don't need it, and the quality of tenant on there is lower. Screen everyone fully for credit and evictions.