Beginner looking for advice

9 Replies

Hi All,
I want to get into the multi family business.
I'm an engineer on a W2 income located in San Diego.
What advice can you give me to get started besides networking and reading a lot?

Thanks,

Guy

Hi @Guy Elbaz ...welcome to the investing game and BP!  

You already said the two main things which is networking and educating yourself...but let me elaborate a little on networking.

Networking is hugely important because it is the fastest way to connect with those who are already having success in what YOU want to do. Go attend local REIA's and investor meetup groups and talk to the investors there; you will not only run into multifamily investors but also other folks you can add to your powerteam to help support your investing.

You might find a mentor that you can tag a long with to experience transactions with...it could help you with the experience to move forward toward your own deals.

If you ever want to connect over the phone, just private message me...I run a group in San Diego and have a network of folks you can plug into.  Best of luck!

Hi @Guy Elbaz and welcome to BP! There's a great local REIA in Vista called the NSDREI that's insightful with investors of all kinds. Regarding real estate books, The ABC's of Real Estate Investing by Ken McElroy and Investing in Duplexes, Triplexes and Quads by Larry Loftis are great books targeting multi family properties. Let me know if you have other questions.

@Guy Elbaz  I was in your shoes 6 years ago when I started as engineer. The best thing that helped was looking at listings every day for literally a year and seeing 50+ houses/multi-family personally. Take advantages of the open houses. I looked at listings within an hour driving distance as I wanted to be sure I know the neighbourhood and if it’s growing area (new infrastructure, immigrations, jobs, etc..)