Anyone have experience with tenant buyouts in SF?

20 Replies

HI BP friends another question regarding tenants here....has anyone had an experience they'd like to share about negotiating with tenants (rather than evicting them) for a tenant buyout so they leave voluntarily? Would love to hear any stories. Thanks!

This post has been removed.

Yes I have some direct experience here in SF. This story will cover the extremes that a story of this kind may go to. Had to get two sets of tenants out for serious capital improvements issues, life and safety issues. The totality will give you a good idea of how things may go. While I am aware of both easier and harder (money wise) stories, I will stick to ours. Also this was nearly 10 years ago, during the downturn. Easier process then, rents were were cheaper and alternative apartments were much more available.  

One set, a couple, who we got along we well enough, basically became a typical buyout situation. The buyout cost 28K for 2 tenants. Both sides still had attorneys. 

The other set, actually a single tenant, sued 7 business days later, with the help of a tenant's rights organization, for 500K for wrongful eviction. Serious stress beginning. While we already had attorneys and rock solid insurance, it was still an ordeal. The suit went basically away, with relatively small pay outs, the tenant still extracted more money for the buyout. 

Total cost for all the process, 105K. Beware.

Hi Katrina,

Yeah, it was. We have owned the property for actually over 18 years and resided here. A good run for the buy and hold concept. We are about to find out just how well our little nest egg has done as we are going to put it on the market soon. We had another stressful situation over the holidays, a fire. We are of the age where we just do not want to go through the rebuilding process and so it is just time to move on and give others the opportunity to build their dream. 

I have a bit of an extreme story for you…