• Investor
  • Yardley, PA
Votes |
The REI Investing Mindset

Shawn Davis
  • Investor
  • Yardley, PA
Posted Oct 19 2019, 01:08

This past weekend I was fortunate enough to attend my very first real estate investing seminar. The seminar, which held in my home state of New Jersey, introduced me to the concepts of REI Investing through the purchase of tax liens and deeds. As a complete beginner, Prior to this seminar, this REI strategy (and the concept of REI opportunities outside of being a real estate agent) was relatively alien to me. Not only was I not aware there were other alternative strategies, I didn't even think they existed. So when I say that what I learned altered the course of my financial success and - by extension - my life forever, I say this with the greatest humility.

The seminar was 3 whole days of immersion into the foundations of REI investing. Concepts such as the 1% percent rule, exit strategies, and financing methods struck the boundaries of my mind, electrified new possibilities and expanded the boundaries of my mind. I became a sponge with immutability. Similarly such concepts like redemption periods, auctions, and redemption interest rates, gave new insight and forced me to broaden my definition of investing. I could now realize my adolescent dream to be a property owner without become a real estate agent.

The thought had given me new life. And even though I was possessed with renewed purpose and confidence, I couldn’t help but notice the feelings of uncertainty. There sitting in the midst of all the rapture was a faint feeling that we may have been taken advantage of and even somewhat played. Did I get everything i had hoped to gain from this training? On cue, as if she knew exact frequency that tuned her into to my innermost thoughts, my girlfriend and business partner uttered, “So what did we pay the 500 dollars for exactly?”