• Oakland, CA
Votes |
How would you approach my situation? Oakland v Midwest/Dallas

Beda Yang
  • Investor
  • Oakland, CA
Posted Oct 6 2017, 16:07

Hey All,

Would love to hear your opinion/logic on my situation... Keep in mind I'm a newbie at this so I appreciate any insight/opinions...

tl;dr - (negative) cash flow v/s betting on appreciation

My fiance is likely to secure a job in Dallas and moving there in the next two months. I would stay in Oakland for the next 6-12months and then move out there to join her. I'm wondering what I should do with my two properties out here...

*keep in mind I started on Bigger Pockets after getting these two spots, so I purchased more as a homeowner/consumer as opposed to an educated investor

**Also, I have a good paying W2 job selling enterprise software, and have been trying to get into REI only on the side. This gives me quite the financial buffer for negative cashflow in exchange for equity.

***My goals/strategy is long term buy and hold/cash flow props/brrrr when I can find them (all midwest /dallas moving forward)

****My ultimate question is, should I keep it, rent it out, and take a negative cashflow and bank on debt reduction/bet on appreciation, or should I just sell it and cash out? I'm fairly certain that the way the market is now, I can get minimum the appraisal values if I sell.

1. The current house we live in is in Highland Terrace (Fruitvale area), and it seems like the area is improving quite nicely. I purchased a (horribly) flipped house Dec 2015 for $550k, 4 bed 2 bath, 1300SF, completely remodeled. I recently did a cash out refi for $562k @ 4.25%, appraising the property at $750k (I am planning on taking the cash to invest in some actual cashflow props in the midwest). PITI is ~$3600/month.