Denver Market House Hacking Location Recommendations

11 Replies

Hello everyone my name is Angie DeNardo and I am fairly new to the Bigger Pockets forum. I will be relocating in early 2020 to the Denver area from Philadelphia. Instead of throwing my money away renting I would like to get involved in real estate. I have been reading books, listening to podcasts, and networking for about six months. I am targeting the house hacking strategy.

Does anyone have experience house hacking in or near the Denver market?

Where are locations/neighborhoods you would recommend for house hacking? I have no commute to the office... just to the airport. I am looking for a class B or C location that is turning into a class A location ideally.

Thank you in advance for your insights!

Hi Angie welcome to the forum and (preemptively) welcome to CO. When I first moved out here I got started with a house hack and it was a life changing decision so I highly recommend it. Denver is a big city so which part to land in is kind of a difficult question to answer without more info about you. 

The most important piece that will dictate which part of the city I'd recommend would be budget, as Denver has gotten pretty expensive so price is often the biggest limiting factor in getting started. If you're not sure on your budget, the place to get started would be talking to a mortgage broker to see what the max loan amount you would qualify for is (sorry if this is too obvious and elementary, and you may be paying cash because money is no object for all I know, but my assumption would be that you'll take advantage of the low money down financing available for owner-occupied which is a big advantage of house hacking, and that your price point is entry-level so I'll base my advice on that).