Any RE investors in the Atlanta area?

6 Replies | Atlanta, Georgia

Hi,

I'm a relative newbie (only have 2 SFH rentals) but looking to expand. Nothing close to cash flow positive seems to be available these days. What sources do people use? FMLS isn't the best place for deals. Thanks!

Hey @Eland Lord, welcome to the BP community!

To answer your question in the subject line, yes there are a ton of us here on BP in the Atlanta area. 

To answer your question in the post, itself, these days it's not about where you're looking but how you're looking. Unless you're going direct to seller and getting lucky by finding folks who live under a rock, you aren't going to have much luck finding cash flow in a decent area with good schools. This goes for any major market in the U.S. right now. 

The days of buying turnkey, on-market properties that cash flow day 1 are over (at least for now). If you want to find cash flow today, you'll need to get creative. Atlanta is a great market for this since we have a number of large homes and homes with mother-in-law suites = multiple streams of income on a SFR = better likelihood for cash flow. Atlanta has a major housing shortage, especially for lower income. Find a way to meet that need and you'll find solid returns, even in this wacky market.

Hope this helps a bit. Feel free to reach out anytime if you want to bounce ideas off each other!

@Eland Lord I actually never said anything about MFH;)

In fact, that space is so overrun here in ATL and there is so little supply, that I would actually recommend not focusing on it. Sure, keep an eye out because any MF you can snag for a good price in Atlanta is a no-brainer but just don't waste too much time in a space just as, if not more, competitive than the SFR space.

My point was to get creative with SFR investing so that it almost acts like a MF.

Originally posted by @Eland Lord:

Hi,