Best Areas for Househacking in Chicago

16 Replies

I'm new to real estate investing and trying to get into owning a Multifamily unit using as little capital as possible. Househacking seems to be very newbie friendly and I'm looking to target a couple of areas in Chicago for my first one.

Can anyone recommend what are good areas in Chicago to house hack? In terms of being a decent area(while not too over priced) and a up and coming area?

Well decent area is pretty subjective.  What one may find acceptable others wouldn't. You can look at the Crime stats in a neighborhood. This City is pretty open about that https://data.cityofchicago.org.. Personally, it's critical whether you are going to house hack or not to walk the neighborhood you are looking at to make that determination yourself.  make sure you do so at various times.

A lot is driven my your budget.  Another factor do you want the property to be fixed up, or do you want to do that.  If have talents in that department or willing to endure hiring it out, then that will open up more options.

My partner and I are flipping a property to house hack in Avondale.  We are microblogging our progress.  Anyone who wants to follow along can PM me and I'll send the link to signup.

I would recommend getting a great real estate who knows the area well and is also an investor. This will help you find the best areas to house hack around Chicago. They will be able to tell you the areas where people have been investing and what kind of numbers you can expect in those areas.

If you are okay being a bit outside of downtown, there are a few good areas. From what I have seen, people have been looking a lot in Berwyn and surrounding areas such as Forest Park, Brookfield, La Grange, and parts of Cicero.

If you do not have an agent already, I would recommend connecting with @John Warren . He’s very knowledgeable about the area and has been incredibly helpful for me. I am under contract on my first deal in Berwyn now.