Rockford Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Joseph A Henke
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
Buying multiple rentals cash then using HELOC to buy more.

Joseph A Henke
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Feb 1 2022, 09:44

Hi Everyone!

I am a real estate agent agent in the in the NW Chicagoland area. I work with many investors and I am ready to start investing in rentals myself. I am interested in the Rockford, IL area for the low prices and decent rental rates. I plan to buy 2-3 houses for 50k or less a piece then uses HELOCs to recycle the money and buy more. Are there any holes in this strategy that I am not considering? I can't qualify for a loan until I am two years in the agent business so this is why I plan to leverage in this way.

User Stats

Votes
Bartholomew B.
  • Investor
  • Rockton, IL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Rockton, IL
Replied Feb 1 2022, 11:40

Have you driven by the 50K and under houses in Rockford? You're going to want someone very familiar with the area to guide you in your property selection. These properties are likely in rough areas and need extensive work.  Are you trying to get HELOCs on the rental properties? If so many lenders will have a 6 month seasoning period before you can take out a loan. I don't see any holes in your strategy but go into it knowing there is a lot of work involved in low price point rentals. 

User Stats

Votes
Joseph A Henke
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Chicago, IL
Replied Feb 2 2022, 15:46
Originally posted by @Bartholomew B.: