Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Lisa Sall
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Drake, CO
Votes |
Should an architect know if a design will fit within my budget?

Lisa Sall
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Drake, CO
Posted Jun 27 2022, 19:29

I'm a new STR investor and could use some advice about working with architects and contractors. I bought my first STR property and it's a cabin that needs a lot of work. I hired an architect to create the plans, and his plans are very nice, but he can't tell me if they are within my reno budget of $100K. He says I need a contractor to tell me that. So, I hired a contractor who says he has to have a full set of plans from the architect to give me a budget. I'm at a standstill here. Can anybody give me some advice about how to get past this? It seems strange to me that an architect would create plans without knowing if they fit within my budget. I'm a consultant and wouldn't create a plan that didn't work with my client's budget. Am I nuts? Appreciate any advice. Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Jun 27 2022, 19:43

@Lisa Sall

Architects should be able to give to provide you that information - at least a range. Find a new architect or tell him you are designing per X budget and after plans are complete if it’s over budget you are not paying for any redesign costs to value engineer then project.

The other option is to bring in a construction manager who can manage the architect and GC and they also could provide you a budget and manage the architect.

User Stats

Votes
JD Martin
  • Rock Star Extraordinaire
  • Northeast, TN
Votes |
  • Rock Star Extraordinaire
  • Northeast, TN
ModeratorReplied Jun 27 2022, 19:52
Quote from @Lisa Sall: