Skip to content
Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Brito
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Espanola, NM
Votes |
Advice on partnership for house flipping.

Joshua Brito
  • Espanola, NM
Posted Aug 8 2022, 13:15

Hello,

I have a question pertaining to partnering up with another Investor to do a house flip. My question is I'm new to this and the partner i am going in on this with is well experienced. We plan to go in on half of the costs including purchase of property, materials etc.. He is a General contractor and, will have his crew go in and do all the work i wont have to lift a finger. My main question is what percentage should we split the profits? Thanks in Advance!

User Stats

Votes
Justin Moy
  • Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Replied Aug 8 2022, 15:13

Sounds like you're more of a source of capital for your partner? There's a bit more to it then just the rehab, but who found the property (and put in the hours and effort to finally find one that works), who will manage the disposition, who is putting up cash/balance sheet/collateral for a loan if there's a loan involved. 

If you're doing lots of the task except managing the rehab then you'd of course expect a bit more, but it's hard to answer without knowing exactly who is getting what. 

Also, is he profiting on the construction or is he running it at cost and his profit is coming from the sale? That's another thing to consider. 

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Brito
  • Espanola, NM
Votes |
  • Espanola, NM
Replied Aug 8 2022, 17:30
Quote from @Justin Moy:

Sounds like you're more of a source of capital for your partner? There's a bit more to it then just the rehab, but who found the property (and put in the hours and effort to finally find one that works), who will manage the disposition, who is putting up cash/balance sheet/collateral for a loan if there's a loan involved.