Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Brandon Zenisek
Votes |
Real estate questions

Brandon Zenisek
Posted Mar 5 2023, 16:32

Hey guys! I just joined yesterday due to the book I was reading (the book on rental property investing). Just a little background of myself, I’m currently 21 years old and I am a contractor. My dad owns a improvement business, and would LOVE to get into fix n flips. The only thing is, I make about $40k a year and have some savings but not a lot. My question is, how would I get the finances to do a fix and flip? Should I go through a bank or a hard money lender? Will they even accept me with the income I have? We would be doing all the work ourselves as we have team of reliable tradesmen and would love to start. Thank you so much!

User Stats

Votes
Karl McGarvey
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Replied Mar 6 2023, 06:20

If it were me, I bould buy a live in flip using a conventional home loan which is way cheaper than investor financing. After a year move out of the home and into another live in flip and start renting out the house that you spent the year fixing. House hacking!

User Stats

Votes
Ash Hegde
  • Lender
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (Lending in FL CT MI PA)
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL (Lending in FL CT MI PA)
Replied Mar 6 2023, 06:39

For fix and flip, you're going to want a hard money lender. A traditional bank will not lend on a fix and flip property that is too distressed, though there are a couple rehab options for a primary residence if you want to go the route Karl mentioned. 

The good news with hard money lenders is they do not care about your personal income. The bad news is these loans come with higher fees and interest rates than conventional. With no flipping experience you will need 15-20% down, that can get reduced to 10% down after you have 3 flips under your belt. 

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets