Votes
Shawn Hurley
  • New Orleans, Dallas, Atlanta, Birmingham , LA, Tx, GA, Al
Votes |
Proof of funds letter

Shawn Hurley
Posted Jul 4 2017, 13:53

HELLO GUYS I'M NEW TO THE BP COMMUNITY AND I HAVE A QUESTION.  I HAVE FLIPPED A LOT OF HOMES BEFORE THE MARKET CRASHED AND DURING THAT TIME I HAD IN PLACE A LINE OF CREDIT AND A PRIVATE MONEY LENDER TO HANDLE ALL OF MY FUNDING NEEDS. FAST FORWARD THE TIMELINE TO TODAY.  I'M INTERESTED IN WHOLESALES AND FLIPPING PROPERTIES.  HERE'S IS MY ROADBLOCK AND QUESTION.  I AM FINDING GREAT DEALS BUT HOW DO I PLACE THESE DEALS UNDER CONTRACT WITHOUT A PROOF OF FUNDS LETTER? I UNDERSTAND THE WHOLESALING PROCESS OR ASSIGNMENT PROCESS. BUT DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO PLACE A PROPERTY UNDER CONTRACT WITHOUT A PROOF OF FUNDS LETTER OR HOW DO I GET ONE?

User Stats

Votes
Brandon Sturgill
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Columbus, OH
Replied Jul 4 2017, 13:58

Proof of funds is a general term...not an official document. And there is no relevance for PoF for what you are doing...why would you need PoF if you are not taking title to the property?...I have never heard of a buyer requesting one in a wholesale transaction...I would reach out to a local investor friendly RE agent and ask for a board approved contract for starts...or maybe even some of the clauses that may pertain to a deal you want to lock up. Aside from that, my advice is to use a RE attorney to draft a purchase agreement...well worth the cost. 

@Shawn Hurley

User Stats

Votes
Shawn Hurley
Votes |
Replied Jul 4 2017, 14:27

@Brandon Sturgill THANKS FOR THE FEED BACK BRANDON. I WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT WHEN LOCKING UP A PROPERTY THE SELLERS AGENT REQUEST A POF LETTER.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Lovett
  • Realtor
  • Smyrna, TN 37167
Votes |