Skip to content
Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Farzad Nejad
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New Hope, PA
Votes |
200K Cash, 1st time investing, BRRRR, what would you recommend?

Farzad Nejad
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New Hope, PA
Posted Sep 9 2019, 14:05

Hello everyone,

I have $200k cash and I would like to invest in a flip (BRRRR). My initial thoughts are to go to auctions, buy under max $75K in areas where rents are above $2K/mo for 2br 2ba. Then renovate, rent, refinance, repeat.

This will be my first investment property. I’ve managed multiple commercial and residential properties for a couple years and am ready to move forward in investing for myself. I have experience with renovating, renting, and managing. I’m also a licensed real estate agent.

Would anyone like to share their opinions of other options I should consider or would like to share their thoughts on the matter?

Any insights or advice would be much appreciated and helpful. Looking forward to hearing from you! -Farzad

User Stats

Votes
Will Fraser
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Salt Lake City & Oklahoma City
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Salt Lake City & Oklahoma City
Replied Sep 9 2019, 14:19

Hi @Farzad Nejad! I would recommend buying a house from a wholesaler or through an agent (from the MLS) before going to auction properties, especially early on. Zillow did an eye-opening study on auction properties (I believe their study was focused on sheriff sale properties) and found that since 2016 properties have been bought at auction at approximately a 7% discount compared to the market value. When considering the crazy-high risk and unpredictability of the auction process (because you infrequently are able to see the property beforetime, much less inspect it properly), a 7% discount doesn't really seem justified considering you can often find deals on the open market and through wholesalers at more than 10% off sticker price.

Good luck in the journey!

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Syrios