Off-Market Lead Generation

5 Replies

Hey everyone! Newbie here. I'm looking to get started in real estate investing and want to start out with the BRRRR method. As everyone knows, finding deals on the MLS is very difficult so I'm looking to send some direct mail to find off market leads from pre-foreclosures, I'm just not quite sure what to say in a letter. If anyone has any insight or helpful tips, I'd love to hear it!!

Thank you! :)

@Taylor Muell

When it comes right down to it, there are just so many ways to ask someone if they could be interested in selling their property. Each message should be an iteration of your contact information, the benefits to the Seller of working with YOU, and a strong call to action.

Don't be overly wordy, keep it short and sweet, do not tell tales ("my wife and I are looking to move into this neighborhood"...unless you really are planning to do just that....I've run a number of successful campaigns for people looking for a personal residence). Simply put, tell the truth without fluff....if you do not "buy houses like yours all the time"...don't say it.

Lastly, remember that the point of the message is to spark a conversation. Don't expect your mail to negotiate, win the deal and close...that's too much to ask of the piece. Sincerity and confidence get noticed. Fluff and stuff finds it's way to the trash can with a quickness.

@Taylor Muell , I agree with Jerry regarding honesty and fluff.  

Mail campaigns are simply marketing.  They might drum up a deal directly, but I would approach it as marketing like any other company.  Your goal is not to get a deal out of this mailer, but to start building name recognition so when someone is ready/forced to sell, you are on their list of people to call.