2018 Baltimore Tax Sale

11 Replies | Baltimore, Maryland

Hello,

I hope all is well. I am new to this Tax Sale process. I missed the 2018 Tax Sale and 2018 Assignment Sale that was held last week. I wanted to know how soon can I purchase left over Lien Certificates for homes that were not purchased on either of the sales? I understand that the updated list can be purchased in mid June 201(I called the Tax Sale office). If I have addresses already in mind, can I purchase now?

What are the purchase options? Can I purchase online, by mail, or do I have to come in to the office?

Does anyone have any experience purchasing OTC (Over the Counter) Lien Certificates in Baltimore City?

I called the Baltimore CityTax Sale office and they were not any help. They mentioned that I should just wait until mid June to purchase the new list for $10. From there, I can choose which homes that want.

I already have a list from BidBaltimore.com of the home that are left over from the Tax Sale and Assignment Sale.

Thanks for any help!

Ryan

Ryan,

I have purchased liens leftover from the tax sale in the past. As far as i know ou have to wait until the list comes out to buy them however if you know one is available there is no harm in trying (other than the time spent).  

The only way I know to purchase them is to go to the tax sale office and buy them in person. You will need certified funds so you should go early, get the exact amount you need, then go get a cashiers check and come back. The lines can be long so if you are not sure you can get back the same day they can give you the amount for the next say. It changes every day due to interest. 

Thanks for your response Ned! I’m going to wait until the new list is produced in mid June. 

I am just going to choose about 10 homes from the BidBaltimore.com website and compare those to the new list. Hopefully, some of those homes are still on the new list in mid June and can help speed things up.