Skip to content
Detroit Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Roberta Carraro
  • San Francisco, CA
Votes |
Detroit Multi-unit Investment (Absolute rookie!)

Roberta Carraro
  • San Francisco, CA
Posted Jul 5 2020, 10:31

Hello, BP! I'm a total newbie to the forums, but a friend who has built his multi-property income stream on these resources' advice turned me on to this space. I'd love to get your perspective on the scenario I'm currently facing:

I currently live in SF but have traveled between SF and Toronto every few months for years—my family is there, and as my father ages, I've been feeling compelled to be much closer to home. My primary residence for the past six years has been a small but charming condo in a converted historical mansion in Glen Park, a desirable part of the city. I've decided to turn my primary residence into an investment property. My costs for this space (mortgage+hoa dues+insurance+taxes) is ~$2800, the property management agency I've signed will take 8%, and their rental pricing report estimates a low-end rental rate of $3100, high of $3300. I want to hold this property as SF to ride out appreciation for future sale, or keep as a pied-à-terre for my future self—so even keeping my costs neutral to hold the asset here seems reasonable. So question one would be, *is* this reasonable?