New investor in Grand Rapids

12 Replies

Hello! I'm a GR native and recent GVSU grad looking to house hack my first deal this year. I've been listening to the BP podcasts, reading books, and meeting local agents, lenders, and investors for a few months now, trying to absorb as much as possible while I work on establishing credit. My goal is to close by May, when my current lease is up, on a single family or smaller multifamily. Ideally I'd want to buy relatively close to downtown, since I currently work full-time at an investment company down there, and I really like the John Ball/Swan, Belknap, Creston Heights, Fulton Heights, and Eastown neighborhoods.  Any tips for starting out, leads on properties, or thoughts/ideas on the local market would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Drake - welcome!  I started investing last February so I'm also a newbie.  I wish I could have house hacked, you'll be in the best position to succeed and it sounds like you're taking all the right steps.  I'd recommend attending the Friday morning RPOA breakfasts at Cheshire Kitchen, the free conference in February, or the Monday nights at Buffalo Wild Wings.  These types of events are filled with other investors sharing their best tips regularly, along with industry experts like lenders, contractors, etc.  I've learned the most from mentors and that group, it's also a great place to stand up weekly and ask whatever you are hung up on that week.  Best of luck and message me if you'd like to join me at one of the Friday morning breakfasts.

Couple small credit tips is have 3. Credit cards or more and use for just gas and bills or at least  make sure you use 10% or less of the credit limit or you will lower your score. Usually anything above 720 gets you a better rate for most banks.